Say something, I’m giving up on you…

The song, by A Great Big World ft. Christina Aguilera, is beautifully written.  So well that most anyone upon hearing it can instantly think of someone in their life that it applies to.  It’s hard to not listen to it over and over again.  When watching the Victoria Secret Fashion Show last month, the song was mesmerizing for me.  It was the first time I truly listened to the words being sung and I was instantly addicted.  I feel like there are many people in my life this could apply to.  When I saw the music video (see here: YouTube: Say Something by A Great Big World ft. Christina Aguilera) it opened up a range of emotions and just made the song that much more relevant.   It’s not only directed towards a love; it’s for family members, friends, really anyone in your life that you’re feeling let down by, either their actions or their misplaced or misspoken words.  I remember the first couple of times I actually cried.  I searched YouTube over and over again for different covers and variations, but always returned to the original. 

I’m still learning to love
Just starting to crawl.

Say something, I’m giving up on you.
I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you.
Anywhere I would’ve followed you.
Say something, I’m giving up on you.

I feel like I’m waiting for so many people surrounding me to just say something, because I am close to giving up on relationships.  I’ve been seeing, but not seeing (you know what I mean…), the same man for the past six and half years of my life.  We’ve had our fair share of ups and downs.  We’re not really even anything when you look at our relationship from the outside.  When we’re together, he’s my world.  When we’re apart, it’s like he was never there to begin with.  I know, waiting around for someone that long sounds absurd.  And mostly, my head agrees; it’s my heart that goes back every time.  I’ve tried to leave it in the dust more times than I can even keep track of anymore.  I’m just waiting – for what you ask? For him to just “say something”.  Tell me I’ll never be the one or tell me I am the only one.  I’m so close to giving up; it’s only a matter of time.  He is the fire to my gasoline, but also the milk to my cookies. 

 

Anyways, if you live under a rock and haven’t heard the song before – check it out, click on that little link I attached above, and just give your heart strings a pull.  Really listen to the words, let them sink in; you’ll be just as addicted as I was, am, was…  I know, it’s totally cliche and sounds like a bunch of nonsense.  And if you listen to the radio, which I generally don’t, you’re probably moons over this song by now.  I just think it’s beautiful and give a lot of credit to A Great Big World for their writing being so poetically amazing.

 

Have you heard the song? Do you feel the same way?  Do you relate? What does it relate to for you?  

Leave a Reply

